This Writing Endeavour

The year has reached its end and I sit with a finished first draft on my desk that I hadn’t even considered this time 365 days ago. It’s a good feeling. I have printed it out to read through in the new year, making whatever notes and adjustments I deem necessary before letting it out into the “wild” and sharing it for feedback from others. If you’d like to be one of those others, drop me a line or leave a comment here and I’ll add you to the list. My aim is to have it ready by the end of January at the latest.

The story stands on its own quite well, but as I went along it became clear that it was only the first part of this character’s journey. I can envisage this first book as the start of a trilogy, which may well lead to other places – I can think of at least two other stories beyond that point. There are links to some of those in this first story – hopefully some will come to fruition in future books, depending on how this one is received.

The third part of the trilogy is a direct follow-up to the first story, but the second is still fairly open to explore the main character’s new-found ability, possibly even being a collection of short stories set throughout this universe. I’m not entirely sure how it will all fit together and may even need to complete planning on the third book before starting the second. Or….

The Writing Endeavor(sic) is a less stressful offshoot from the NaNos I’ve been involved in over these last two months. The aim is to come out after a year with a range of writing experience working to various different types of target. It starts on the 1st of January, with a 11,111 word count target on a piece of new fiction. I have three possible ideas bubbling away that I could use.

  1. Short story about the ‘Benefits of Hindsight’ main character – this may end up being the basis for either the second book OR simply one short story within the book
  2. Short story about a ‘Benefits of Hindsight’ supporting character – either the MC’s wife, his neighbour (the unexpected mentor character that I mentioned a while ago) or another character – that would be included as part of the book 2 collection
  3. Stand alone short fairy story aimed at children, but with an adult perspective

I have set these choices up as a poll – vote for the one you’d like me to go for!
[UPDATE: Poll now closed – thanks for filling it in!]

All the best to you heading for the new year – 2009.

Explore posts in the same categories: NaNoWriMo, TWE

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “This Writing Endeavour”

  1. Laura K. Says:

    I think the fairy story would be cool to read, only because I’ve never actually read one that was decent! I always thought it would be something cool to write, but never got around to it, so I think that would be something fun… especially if I’m not the one writing it πŸ˜€

  2. borismc Says:

    Well, that’s something to aim for!

    This one should explain why young children can sometimes appear asleep in strange places (under their bed, halfway down the stairs, etc.)

  3. Laura K. Says:

    πŸ˜€

    How’d the writing go today?

  4. borismc Says:

    It didn’t!

    I have done some planning and fleshing out the main characters for the ‘fairytale’ – planning on doing some writing tomorrow…

  5. Laura K. Says:

    I didn’t think I was going to get any writing done today because I had nothing prepared at all! No plot, no characters (the characters don’t have names, but I’m not too worried about that). But thankfully I did… and thank you for giving me the original idea for this story πŸ˜€ I hope you get some writing done tomorrow!

  6. borismc Says:

    Now I’m intrigued!

    Just completed 300 words describing MC and setting up her motivations which will drive the plot. I’m not entirely sure how it will all come together, but it’s good to get started!

  7. Laura K. Says:

    Well, when you introduced yourself on the forum and you said you had a daughter and liked to play songs for her, all I could picture was this little girl sitting on the floor totally enthralled in the music that her father was playing/singing. So, one of the subplots in the story (there’s eight different “scenarios” that all were spin offs of that first idea) is this little girl who’s uncle comes to visit and she’s shy at first but fascinated with the music that he performs for their family. So yeah… thank you πŸ˜€

    I love descriptive writing… that and dialogue.

  8. Laura K. Says:

    A correction: You said you had a daughter and a niece that you liked to write bedtime stories for and you also liked to write songs, and in my thinking that lead to a little girl sitting on the floor totally enthralled, etc…


Leave a Reply

