NaNoWriMo08 Ch2 Excerpt

NaNoWriMo Participant

I’m still falling behind target, made worse by being out on Saturday night and doing very little, but made up some ground last night, well into chapter 3 which has turned out to be twice as long as the first two.  I’ve been having difficulty moving the story on at a couple of points because of the structure of the plot which requires some pointers to be dropped in early on which become of more significance later on, and I’m trying to make sure I have them in place so that I don’t run the risk of the plot becoming totally illogical.  Having the timeline finally settled is helping this, though it is still being tweaked occasionally to make sure I get everything lined up further on down the line.  I’m starting to get a better handle on two of the main characters, which is making writing their dialogue run a little more smoothly.

Here’s a little bit from chapter 2, where things are starting to deviate from the norm…

When I awoke with a start it was not upon touchdown, but at the first stop on the train.  I didn’t know where I was.  I certainly didn’t know how I had got there.  One moment I was on a plane, the next on a train.  Somehow I had managed to get off the plane, through the airport, down to the train terminal, buy a ticket and board the train without being able to recall a single second of it.  I would say that it was a similar feeling to travelling a familiar road and becoming aware that you’ve covered twice the distance expected, or getting caught up in a piece of music so much that you get to the end and realise you didn’t sing the chorus like you normally do.  Yet it was more than that.  It wasn’t that I hadn’t been paying attention.  I simply had no memory of doing any of those things over the previous hour and a half.  I felt myself shaking and wishing I had brought my hip-flask.
By the time the train drew into Liverpool Street, my nerves had returned to normal, but I helped them along with a double shot of espresso from one of the coffee booths in the station, before making my way out on my usual route.  As I passed the tramp and his dog he seemed to catch my passing glance and stare back, which just made me laugh, as it occurred to me that I was still sufficiently visibly shaken by my missing period of time that somebody in his state of disarray should do a double-take at the way I look.  He is usually too drunk to do much more that curse or mumble at anyone passing within his line of sight.

Explore posts in the same categories: NaNoWriMo

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

